WAC WAC Main Page
>Student Composition Contest Winners

WAC Student Composition Contest Winners

2023 Student Composition Contest Winners

Undergraduate Category

  • First Prize: Eleri Beal, String Quartet No. 1 “and otherwise” (UW Whitewater)
  • Honorable Mention: Ben Campbell, Variegation for alto saxophone and piano (Lawrence University)
  • Honorable Mention: Jason Ford, Stratus for tenor saxophone and electronics (UW Oshkosh)
  • Honorable Mention: Joshua Sheldon, Serpentine for solo cello (UW Oshkosh)

High School Category

  • First Prize: Charlie Plante, Con Mistero for flute (Cedarburg HS)
  • Honorable Mention: Aniket Singh, The Waves Beyond for solo euphonium, 3 B-flat clarinets, 1 bass clarinet (Hamilton HS)
  • Honorable Mention: Alexander Tierney, Lament in Eb Minor for flute and piano (Verona Area HS)

Middle School Category

  • First Prize: Reylin Williams, The Scary Old Mansion for piano (Eau Claire)
  • Honorable Mention: Adharsh Aavan, Ocean Tides for flute and piano (Brookfield Academy)
  • Honorable Mention: Liam Grimord, The Mountain Trek for piano (Northshore Middle School)
  • Honorable Mention: Greta Lofgren, We Made It To State! for piano (Elk Mound)

Elementary Category

  • First Prize: Dave Amadi, Off To School! for piano (Eau Claire)
  • Honorable Mention: Leah Carter, Soccer! for piano (Eau Claire)
  • Honorable Mention: Lena Hussien-Tabor, Starlight for piano (Eau Claire)
  • Honorable Mention: Jameson Liddle, Rockin’ with Alberti for piano (Eau Claire)
  • Honorable Mention: Daniel Mei, Ghosts in the Graveyard for piano (Wilson Elementary)

2022 Student Composition Contest Winners

Elementary School Category

  • First Prize: Dave Amadi “Cat vs. Lawnmower” (Robbins Elementary, Eau Claire)
  • Honorable Mention: Brynn Holldorf “The Knight’s Adventure” (Sherman Elementary, Eau Claire)
  • Honorable Mention: Tayvin Krenzelok “The Haunted House” (Locust Lane Elementary, Eau Claire)
  • Honorable Mention: Michael Papadopoulos “Low Flying Hawk” (St. James Elementary, Eau Claire)
  • Honorable Mention: Iris Wang “Small Tree” (Brookfield Elementary, Brookfield)

Middle School Category

  • First Prize: Brianna Yang “The Abandoned Treehouse Mansion” (Richmond School, Sussex)
  • Honorable Mention: Delana Marsh “The Primadona” (DeLong Middle School, Eau Claire)
  • Honorable Mention: Allison Yang “Bright Morning” (Richmond School, Sussex)

High School Category

  • First Prize: Aniket Singh “A Fallout Waltz” (Hamilton High School, Sussex)
  • Honorable Mention: Charlie Plante “Woodwind Quintet No. 1” (Cedarburg High School, Cedarburg)
  • Honorable Mention: Leo Rodda “Avalanche” (Appleton North High School, Appleton)

Undergraduate Category

  • First Place: Brock Daumler “Via Negativa” (Lawrence University)
  • Honorable Mention: Mack Booth, “but does it djent?” (UW Oshkosh)
  • Honorable Mention: Micah Gehring “Elegy” (UW Oshkosh)
  • Honorable Mention: Joe Sandy, “Home, 2am” (UW Oshkosh)

2021 Student Composition Contest Winners

Middle School

  • First Prize: Charlie Plante "Prometheus and the Theft of Fire" for violin, cello, piano, and timpani
  • Honorable Mention: Krin Blegen "Midmorning Marmalade" for string quartet
  • Honorable Mention: Allison Yang "The Story" for woodwind quartet

High School

  • First Prize: Connor Markohn "Storm" for choir
  • Honorable Mention: Benji Hruska "Wistful Waters" for oboe, viola, and piano


  • First Prize: Dane Slinger "Alveolus" for baritone saxophone and drum set
  • Honorable Mention: Leah Tollefson "Theme and Variations" for clarinet and piano

Hear recordings of the winning compositions here. Congratulations to all of the participants!

Winners of the 2016 Student Composition Contest

Primary School Category

First Place: Zoe Kraus, Appleton, WI
Honorable Mention: Siddharth Nadkarni, Hartland WI
Honorable Mention: Marcus Wakefield, Oshkosh, WI
Honorable Mention: Greta Thoresen, Sheboygan WI
Honorable Mention: Nora Otte, Van Dyne, WI

High School Category

First Place: Alexandra Semina, Brookfield, WI
Honorable Mention: Gabe Lemke, Madison, WI
Honorable Mention: Emily Warnke, Appleton, WI

Undergraduate Category

First Place: Christian Jesse, UW Oshkosh
Honorable Mention: Darren Deal, Lawrence University
Honorable Mention: Scott Keith Horton, UW-La Crosse

Prior years

2001, Jeffrey Stanek, Romance No. 2, Op. 6, No. 1 for violin and piano
1997, Jay Mollerskov, Andromeda
1996, Josh Schmidt, She Couldn't Scream
1995, Timothy Kamps, Three Pieces for String Trio
1994, Christopher Walczak, Four Movements for Wind Quartet
1993, Gregory T. Glancey, String Quartet
1992, Michael Alan Basford, Death Warmed Over
1991, William Rhoads, Epigrams
1990, Timothy Johnson, Abstractions of a Dying Leaf
1989, David Drexler, Electricity for Solo Flute
1988, Jonathan Higgins, Several Meditations for Flute and Piano
1987, Scott Brickman, Untitled
1986, Lee Heritage, Guitar Quartet

[WAC Main Page] [Archives]

Copyright © 1998-2023 Wisconsin Alliance for Composers. All rights reserved.
Last updated 11 December2023. Contact information.