WAC WAC Main Page
 1998 Conference
Concert 1
Concert 2
Concert 3

1998 Conference, Workshop

April 4, 1998, Carthage College, Kenosha.

Stanislaw Venglevski

His keyboard artistry, dazzling technical command, and sensitivity have brought Stanislav Venglevski, a native of the Republic of Moldova, part of the former Soviet Union, increasing acclaim as a virtuoso of the bayan. A two-time first prize winner of bayan competition in the Republic of Moldova, "Stas" is a graduate of the Russian Academy of Music in Moscow where he received his Masters Degree in Music under the tutelage of the famed Russian bayanist Friedrich Lips. In 1992 he emigrated to the United States.

Stas' repertoire is an astonishing collection of virtuoso works by Bach, Weber, Liszt, Schubert, Rachmaninoff, as well as contemporary and ethnic music. He has toured extensively throughout the former Soviet Union, Europe, and the United States. He also performs frequently in Milwaukee, WI, his home in America, and is a regular participant in the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra's Arts in Community Education program (ACE) and in local theatre productions.

Stas' bayan-is an Italian-made Pigini. This full-size, 5 octave concert accordion has 120 buttons arranged in six rows on the left hand, and 106 buttons arranged in five rows along the keyboard on the right hand. Increasing the bayan's ability to produce an incredible range and spectrum of sounds are 15 registers (stops) on the right, 5 in the bass, and 7 chin registers.

The bayan was invented in the early 20th century, and the first solo bayan concert occurred in 1935 in St. Petersburg. It is one of the most beloved folk instruments in Russia. At first, all original music for the bayan was composed by bayanists for their own use; but when the modern composers began to create serious concert works for the instrument it came to be respected as a classical instrument. Its versatility lends itself to all types of music.

1998 Conference
[Concert 1] [Concert 2] [Workshop] [Concert 3]

[WAC Main Page] [Archives]

Copyright © 1998 Wisconsin Alliance for Composers. All rights reserved.
Last updated 4 June 1998. Contact information.